The Wind Masters: the lives of North American birds of prey

$16.95

Written by Pete Dunne with scratchboard illustrations David Sibley.

Originally published in hardcover 1995, reprinted in paperback 2003

294 pages

Not sold here, but available from other sellers:

view at Amazon

SKU: B13 Category:

Books that are sold directly through this website are always signed, and can also be personalized according to your instructions (for example “to John James, Happy Birthday!”). At checkout you will see a box where you can enter any special instructions for an inscription, and I will take care of that before I ship the books.

To see a list of books that are sold through this website click here. (Prints are also sold directly here and all are signed)

If you would like a signed copy of a book that is not sold here, the easiest way is to check my events schedule and contact the bookstore at one of my upcoming events. Most stores will be happy to take your order for a book with inscription and shipping, and I will sign the book when I am at the store.

If you already own a book and would like it signed, you can catch up to me in person at one of my events and I will be happy to sign it.

Load More

Load More


Also available from other sellers

More information

Pete Dunne’s stories show what it is like to be a bird of prey. He takes us inside the lives and minds of all thirty-four species of diurnal raptors found in North America — hawks, falcons, eagles, vultures, the osprey, and the harrier — and shows us how each bird sees the world, hunts its prey, finds and courts its mate, rears its young, grows up, grows old, and dies.

Vividly written, and beautifully illustrated by David Sibley, The Wind Masters is a brilliant work of narrative natural history in the tradition of Peter Matthiessen’s The Wind Birds and Barry Lopez’s Of Wolves and Men.

Version History

Version history

First Edition hardcover 1995

Originally published in hardcover by Houghton Mifflin in Oct 1995

Paperback 2003

Reprinted in paperback by Mariner Books, 2003